City of Frankfort

Capital of Kentucky

Board of Commissioners

  • William May

    William May


      Frankfort native William I. May Jr. took office as Frankfort Mayor on January 1, 2013. He served as Mayor of Kentucky’s capital city from 1996 to 2009, but due to a Constitutional three term limit, was unable to run for a fourth consecutive term...

  • Robert E. Roach

    Robert E. Roach

    Mayor Pro Tem

    Robert E. Roach is the son of Robert and Louise Roach.He is married with four children and is an elder at Holly Hill church of Christ.He is an educator, small business owner, and former teaching tennis pro.He can be reached at or...

  • Tommy Z. Haynes


    Tommy is serving his first term on the City Commission.  He is married to Marilyn Haynes and they have four children.  Tommy believes in faith, family, and the future.  He earned his Bachelor’s degree in Health, Physical Education, and Recreation...

  • Lynn Bowers


    Lynn Bowers is serving her fifth term as City Commissioner.  During three of these terms she served as Mayor Pro Tem of Frankfort.   She is a native of Frankfort and a graduate of Frankfort High School.  She holds a Ph.D. in Psychology from the...

  • Dawn Hale


    Dawn was appointed to fill the term of Katie Hedden who resigned. Dawn was married to the late William Hale and they have one daughter. Dawn graduated from Frankfort High School and has a BS in Political Science and Economics and a Masters of...